JSU President Hudson serves on state advisory committee to help Mississippi develop marijuana policy

(JACKSON, Miss.) — JSU President Thomas K. Hudson is among 12 members of the advisory committee for the Mississippi Medical Marijuana Program that formed after voters in November overwhelmingly approved the use of cannabis for medicinal purposes.

JSU President Thomas Hudson

“This is a new frontier for Mississippi and we are poised to change perceptions while helping many patients with debilitating conditions,” said Hudson. “Representation is truly important and I am glad that Jackson State University can be a part of this significant moment.”

After passage of Initiative 65, the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) began working on a plan to implement a successful program that includes production, regulation and licensing ahead of an Aug. 15 target date.

Hudson previously told the media that “the role of this board is to really put some teeth behind that bill, put together a set of policies and procedures that will govern how we work through this very new process.”

As the program prepares to get up and running, he added that JSU is looking forward to assisting in the growth, study and health benefits of marijuana as mandated by Mississippi.

Members of the Advisory Committee:

  • Dr. Thomas Dobbs, State Health Officer, Mississippi State Department of Health
  • Dr. Thomas Hudson, President, Jackson State University
  • Sean Tindell,  Commissioner, Mississippi Department of Public Safety
  • Wendy Bailey, Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Mental Health
  • Chris Graham, Commissioner, Mississippi Department of Revenue
  • Andy Gipson, Commissioner, Mississippi Department of Agriculture
  • Dr. Claude Brunson, Executive Director, State Medical Association
  • Dr. Kenneth Cleveland, Executive Director, Mississippi Board of Medical Licensure
  • Susan McCoy, Executive Director, Mississippi Board of Pharmacy
  • Liz Welch, Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Finance and Administration
  • Michael Watson, Mississippi Secretary of State
  • Dr. Larry Walker, Director Emeritus, National Center for Natural Products Research, University of Mississippi