India.Arie, Common, Erykah Badu, Ari Lennox, Elle Varner, Monica, Kiana Ledé, Maimouna Youssef a.k.a. Mumu Fresh, Crystal Waters, Cece Peniston, Robin S., and DJ Cocoa Chanelle, Set to Perform at the 2019 BLACK GIRLS ROCK!® Awards

August 22, 2019 01:35 PM Eastern Daylight Time

NEW YORK–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Today BET Networks and Beverly Bond, Executive Producer and Creator of BLACK GIRLS ROCK!® announce the performers at The 2019 BLACK GIRLS ROCK!® Awards on BET. The line-up will include India.Arie, Common, Erykah Badu, Ari Lennox, Elle Varner, Monica, Kiana Ledé, and Maimouna Youssef aka Mumu Fresh. House music icons, Crystal Waters, Cece Peniston, Robin S., and DJ Cocoa Chanelle will collaborate for a special moment.

Presenters who will take the stage, include Brandy, Issa Rae, Rapsody, Niatia “Lil Mama” Kirkland, Skai Jackson, Miss America 2019 Nia Franklin, Miss USA 2019 Cheslie Kryst, and Tamika Mallory.

Musical Director Kim Burse, will return for the ninth year to lead the house band, a phenomenal group of all-female musicians, including Cora Coleman (Drums), Divinity Roxx (Bass), Crystal Vargas (Percussion), Lynette Williams (Keyboard), Ashlee Juno (Guitar), Katty Rodriguez (Saxophone), Lessie Vonner (Trumpet), Arnetta Johnson (Trumpet), Myrish Spell (Trombone), and background vocalists Tiffany Ryan, Ayana George, & Latayvia Chery.

This year’s celebration will tape on Sunday, August 25, 2019, at the New Jersey Performing Arts Center (NJPAC) Prudential Hall in Newark, NJ and will premiere on Sunday, September 8th, 2019, at 8:00 P.M. ET/PT on BET.

As previously announced, the 2019 star-studded line up of celebrants will include Golden Globe winner and Oscar nominated actress, director, and producer Angela Bassett (Icon Award), Oscar, Golden Globe, and Emmy-winning actress and director Regina King (Star Power Award), GRAMMY-Award  winning singer/songwriter Ciara (Rock Star Award), Academy Award and Emmy Award-nominated producer and industry trailblazer Debra Martin Chase (Shot Caller Award) two-time GRAMMY Award-winning musician H.E.R. (Young Gifted and Black Award), and activists The Mothers of The Movement Sybrina Fulton, Geneva Reed-Veal, Gwen Carr, Congresswoman Lucy McBath, Maria Hamilton and Cleopatra Cowley-Pendleton (Community Change Agent Award).

The televised special is a BET Networks, B.G.R. Enterprises Inc./BONDVISION MEDIA and Jesse Collins Entertainment production. The executive producers are Beverly Bond, creator and CEO of BLACK GIRLS ROCK!®, Connie Orlando, Head of Original Programming for BET Networks and Jesse Collins and Jeannae Rouzan-Clay of Jesse Collins Entertainment.

The 2019 BLACK GIRLS ROCK!® Awards will air on BET Africa at 8 P.M. CAT on September 10th, BET France at 10 P.M. CEST on September 11th and at 9 P.M. BST on BET UK and 9 P.M. KST on BET South Korea on September 12th.

For updates or more information about BLACK GIRLS ROCK!® visit and

Join the conversation on social media by logging on to our social media platforms:

• On Twitter by using hashtag: #BLACKGIRLSROCK; follow us @BET and @BLACKGIRLSROCK

• On Facebook by liking the fan pages at and

• On Instagram @betnetworks and @BLACKGIRLSROCK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.